30. November 2019 – 30. August 2020

On the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the Falckenberg Collection, the Deichtorhallen Hamburg is presenting a comprehensive exhibition from 30 November 2019 to 30 August 2020 which will focus on installations and sculptures from the collection. The exhibition features some100 works by over 60 internationally renowned artists, including Olaf Breuning, Jimmie Durham, Mark Dion, Thomas Hirschhorn, Jon Kessler, Jessica Stockholder, Diana Thater, Cosima von Bonin, Franz West, Mike Kelley, General Idea, and Erwin Wurm.

Many of the works on view were previously on loan to museums such as the Centre Pompidou, PS1, the Walker Art Center, Tate Modern, MoMA in New York, MOCA in Los Angeles, as well as the Venice and Shanghai biennales. For the first time, these works will be brought together in a major survey exhibition at the Falckenberg Collection in Hamburg-Harburg.

Some of the exhibits will be shown there for the first time, including works by Diana Thater, Jimmie Durham, Thomas Hirschhorn, and Jean-Jacques Lebel. In addition, many of the works on view, such as Jon Kessler’s multimedia installation The Palace at 4 A.M., have been extensively restored especially for the exhibition, thus offering visitors a chance to experience them in a new light. The permanent installations by Jonathan Meese, Thomas Hirschhorn, and John Bock at the Falckenberg Collection are also an integral part of the show.

Artists of the exhibition:
Vito Acconci, Franz Ackermann, Richard Artschwager, Karla Black, John Bock, Monica Bonvicini, Olaf Breuning, Björn Dahlem, Mark Dion, Jimmie Durham, General Idea, Thomas Grünfeld, Georg Herold, Thomas Hirschhorn, Mike Kelley, Jon Kessler, Martin Kippenberger, Astrid Klein, Jean-Jacques Lebel, Sherrie Levine/Joost van Oss, Sarah Lucas, Paul McCarthy, Jonathan Meese, Bjarne Melgaard, Ernesto Neto, Anna Oppermann, Tony Oursler, C.O. Paeffgen, Nam June Paik, Manfred Pernice, Charlotte Posenenske, Robert Rauschenberg, Jason Rhoades, Christoph Schlingensief, Thomas Schütte, Roman Signer, Jessica Stockholder, Diana Thater, Paul Thek, Gavin Turk, Atelier van Lieshout, Peter Welz, Cosima von Bonin, Rebecca Warren, Franz West, Erwin Wurm, Thomas Zipp among others.